Caulfield Spring Racing Carnival

The Caulfield Spring Racing Carnival is one of the major draw cards for horses, jockeys, trainers and racing enthusiasts on the Australian thoroughbred racing calendar. Forming part of the esteemed Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival, the Caulfield races carnival kick starts the exciting event and is always guaranteed to be thoroughly entertaining.

Consisting of three fantastic days of racing – which take place over two successive Saturdays with a Wednesday meet in between, the carnival is held by the Melbourne Racing club, and each of the three days is host to a major Australian Group One race.

Caulfield Guineas Day

Traditionally held on a Saturday as the first race day of the spring carnival racing in Caulfield, the Age Caulfield Guineas Day is one of the elite days of racing during the spring, with six group status race – three of which are group one. The Caulfield Guineas headlines the day’s proceedings, and worth an impressive $1 million, draws in the nation’s best three-year-olds over 1,600 metres and is regarded as the most prestigious event for three-year-olds throughout the carnival. Also taking place on the Caulfield Guineas Day is the Yalumba Stakes, Toorak Handicap, Presentation Stakes, Schillaci Stakes and the Thoroughbred Club Stakes.

Thousand Guineas Day

Held on the Wednesday between the two Saturday meets, the Schweppes Thousand Guineas Day is headlined by the Group 1 Thousand Guineas which is worth a million dollars. Taking place over 1,600 metres, the event is open to three-year-old fillies and constantly draws in a top quality field.

Caulfield Cup Day

Sandwiching in the Thousand Guineas, the Caulfield Cup Day takes place the following Saturday and is made up of six quality elite status race. The $3 million Caulfield Cup headlines the proceedings, and run as an open handicap over 2,400 metres draws the countries best stayers. Other races which form the bumper card are the Caulfield Sprint, the Tristarc Stakes, the Norman Robinson Stakes, the David Jones Cup and the Moonga Stakes.