Melbourne Cup Carnival

The Melbourne Cup Carnival is the most prestigious among the spring racing carnival events in Victoria’s capital and is held at the highly esteemed Flemington Racecourse over four top quality days of racing.

Held during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival, the Melbourne Cup Carnival is host to the AAMI Victoria Derby Day, the Emirates Melbourne Cup Day, the Crown Oaks Day and the Emirates Stakes Day.

Host to an array of top quality Australian races, many punters and horse racing enthusiasts alike hold the Emirates Melbourne Cup Day close to their heart as it is home to the world renowned $6 million Melbourne Cup.

Victoria Derby Day

The first race day of the carnival is traditionally the AAMI Victoria Derby Day, and takes place on the Saturday before the Emirates Melbourne Cup Day. Headlined by the Victoria Derby which is a Group 1 event for three-year-olds over 2,500 metres, the AAMI Victoria Derby Day is the only event in Australia made up entirely of Group races. While the racing on Victoria Derby Day is the main draw for spectators, many now appreciate the annual ‘Fashions on the Field’ just as much, as the competition grows each year.

Melbourne Cup Day

The Emirates Melbourne Cup Day is the most respected of race days in Australia, and takes place on the first Tuesday in November every year. Headlined by the fantastic $6 million Melbourne Cup – the race which stops a nation, eyes around the world turn to Flemington for one of the most enthralling races of the year.

Crown Oaks Day

The Crown Oaks Day is the third race day of the carnival, and sees another of Australia’s elite Group 1 races take to the track in the form of the Crown Oaks. Worth $1 million, three-year-old fillies compete over 2,500 metres at set weights for the prolific title.

Emirates Stakes Day

Rounding off the Melbourne Cup Carnival, the Emirates Stakes day sees five fantastic Group races take to the track, with the $1 million Emirates Stakes taking the headlines. There is also the Patinack Farm Classic, the Group 2 Matriarch Stakes, Group 2 Queen Elizabeth Stakes and the Group 3 Maribyrnong Plate which form the remainder of the event.