The Thousand Guineas

  • Type: Group 1 set weight race
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Age: 3 year old fillies
  • Racecourse: Caulfield, Melbourne
  • 1st Place Prize Money: $300,000 plus trophies
  • Set Weight: 55.5 kg

Overseen by the media and racing fans due to bigger races held during the Caulfield Cup Carnival, the Thousand Guineas is in fact one of the most exhilarating races to watch during the Spring Racing Carnival. This particular race is the definite display of agility and elegance as some of the nation’s finest fillies battle it out to win what is known as the filly equivalent to the Caulfield Guineas. First run in 1946 when Sweet Chime took out the title, the Thousand Guineas is held the Wednesday after the Caulfield Guineas and has a rich history of producing excellent future VRC Oaks champions. Six champion fillies have gone on to win the VRC Oaks including Miss Finland (2006), Special Harmony (2003), Magical Miss (2001), Northwood Plume (1994), Arborea (1993), Richfield Lady (1991) and Tristranagh (1989).

Well known racing identity Wenona Girl won the Thousand Guineas after battling it out with Impulsive the whole length of the race. In the end, she managed to win by 2.5 lengths. Then again in 1961 Indian Summer won by 2 lengths as the favourite with odds of 9/4. Adding to this list of impressive wins was standout filly Toltrice, who won by three lengths in 1972. Another famous racing name has also emerged in the race’s history; Bart Cummings added the Thousand Guineas to his extensive list of wins after his horse Dashing Eagle won in 1996.

The Thousand Guineas is an excellent race for betting on for several reasons. Firstly, history has shown that majority of horses which have a chance of winning the race have placed well in previous similar races. Also, as the race is run under set weight conditions, there is more of an advantage for the better performance horses, increasing punters’ odds of selecting a winner. Thousand Guineas winners are known to stand out in the remainder of the carnival races, which also helps punters in their future betting.

Thousand Guineas Winners

Year Horse
2015 TBD
2014 Amicus
2013 Guelph
2012 Commanding Jewel
2011 Atlantic Jewel
2010 Yosei
2009 Irish Lights
2008 Gallica
2007 Serious Speed
2006 Miss Finland
2005 Mnemosyne
2004 Alinghi
2003 Special Harmony
2002 Macedon Lady
2001 Magical Miss
2000 All Time High
1999 Shizu
1998 Inaflury
1997 Lady Of The Pines
1996 Dashing Eagle
1995 Shame
1994 Northwood Plume
1993 Arborea
1992 Azzurro
1991 Richfield Lady
1990 Whisked
1989 Tristanagh
1988 Riverina Charm
1987 Bianco Flyer
1986 Magic Flute
1985 Shankhill Lass
1984 Goleen
1983 Perfect Bliss
1982 Rom’s Stiletto
1981 Copperama
1980 Biscadale
1979 Brava Jeannie
1978 Kapalaran
1977 Princess Talaria
1976 Savoir
1975 Toy Show
1974 Sufficient
1973 Just Topic
1972 Toltrice
1971 What’s The Verdict
1970 Tango Miss
1969 Wood Court Inn
1968 Our Faith
1967 Begonia Bell
1966 Cendrillon
1965 Gipsy Queen
1964 Reveille
1963 Heirloom / Anna Rose (dead heat)
1962 Regal Peace
1961 Indian Summer
1960 Wenona Girl
1959 Chaise
1958 But Beautiful
1957 Goldenway
1956 Bendrum
1955 Brimses
1954 Lady Mogambo
1953 Olympic Girl
1952 Trunnion
1951 Golden Chariot
1950 True Course
1949 Chicquita
1948 Siren Song
1947 Nizam’s Ring
1946 Sweet Chime